Official Shoe Review: Earth Runners

Earth Runners.  It just sounds like music to your ears doesn’t it? What a great name for a shoe.  There is no shoe I wear more often than my Earth Runners.  Earth Runners win the award for “Best All Around,” “Best in Show,” or “Most Well Rounded.”  How many times in this post can I say Earth Runners? 🙂  Find ’em at http://www.earthrunners.com.

About:

Way back in the day, in December, I became intrigued by a company called Earth Runners, and made contact with the creator, Michael Dally.  I was fortunate enough to receive a pair for review, the Ultralight model.  Unfortunately, I was unable to run in them right away, because I faced my medical crisis shortly after the arrival of these good looking friends.

Nevertheless, I became a big fan of this small company, which was launched on Kickstarter.  Michael Dally is a smart, active mechanical engineer, who honed his skills at San Diego State University.  He’s also a trail runner who cares about the powerful connection we have to the earth and others.  He further exemplifies this connection by pledging to donate a pair of sandals to Seva Sandals, a nonprofit that donates protective footwear to children in India.

Earthing:

I really can’t review these sandals without discussing the concept of Earthing.  I still don’t really “get it.”  Good description right?  All I know for sure is that the Earth has a rhythm (Schumann Resonance) which I attempt to describe here and here. Barefoot runners often describe a feeling of ultimate connection to the Earth and their surroundings, gathering energy from the ground and those around them.  Additionally, decreasing inflammation in their body because of their soft landing and the neutralization of positively charged free radicals when in contact with the negatively charged electrons on the earth. I totally get that.  Well, the first part of that sentence anyway.  But I know there’s no feeling like running barefoot.  Except now, I get that feeling in Earth Runners too.

See here’s the deal:  Michael has taken his love of trail running and Earthing and put that concept into the perfect minimalist running sandal.  He has placed copper inserts (flush with the bottom of the shoe I might add) in attempt to ground the wearer and connect them to the earth again.  Like running barefoot.  Does it work? I think so.  I find myself getting that same euphoric feeling I experience when running barefoot.  But, I might add that for some reason I don’t notice that feeling until I’m about 10 minutes into my run.  I honestly can’t explain that except maybe it takes me a little while to become “one with the shoe” or perhaps it takes a little while for that connection to register.  Who knows?  Michael created a really cool video I will share here, in which he does an experiment to compare the difference between being grounded with bare feet and then with a pair of his Earth Runners.

The Running Experience:

Admittedly, it wasn’t love at first run.  In fact, I could only go about 2 miles running in them and 4ish miles of walking in them before ripping them off due to an excruciating middle toe blister.  And, I’m an idiot and maybe a little strap OCD, so I couldn’t get the straps where I wanted them.  I probably went on like this for a couple of months before I was smart enough to contact Michael to figure out how to help myself.  Michael kindly told me that he had a Support section of his website with FAQ’s.  Luckily, he told me right away what the problem was and I was able to fix it.  On the first try.  What a difference that made and all I had to do was ask…

After I fixed the straps just by rotating them a little bit, I was able to increase my running distance substantially.  My longest run in Earth Runners has been 10 miles, and they were enjoyable miles on the road. I must admit that I am used to running in a lighter shoe, so the 8 oz. feels a little heavy to me after that distance.  On a personal level, I really enjoy the Earth Runners for my shorter, recovery runs.  Possibly because of the Earthing effect?  That’s my story and I’m sticking to it.

For this particular model, I  prefer road running.  The tread on the bottom of the Ultralights is not the best for trails as I tend to slip often in dirt/rocks/mud.  I did attempt several times to go for longer trail runs in them, but I ended up changing after a couple of miles due to the slippage.  To give them some credit though, I did try to take them on the steepest, loose rockiest trails in Ventura and Santa Barbara County.  Like, you should probably go down on your butt, if you catch my drift.  If you want to trail run in your Earth Runners, I might suggest another model (he has quite a few to pick from now!) with better tread on the bottom for rugged terrain, like the Circadian model.  And to finish that thought, I prefer to not run trails in huaraches anyway because I am a total accident waiting to happen on a trail, especially now that I live in California.  These trails are rocky and I’m liable to lose a toe.

Once I am running in these, I feel like the shoe becomes a part of my body and I forget I’m wearing them. I really enjoy running in Earth Runners, not only for the feeling, but for the looks I get.  I can only imagine they are thinking how good looking my shoes are 🙂 Below, I’ve marked the ground feel as fair, but this likely has to do with the 6mm sole vs the 4mm sole which is the max I’m used to running in.  The 6 mm sole is quite flexible, and I’ve read reviews that say that if you choose to have a naked footbed (who doesn’t want a naked footbed??) then the ground feel and flexibility is comparable to the Xero Shoes, which have the best ground feel I’ve experienced in a minimal shoe.

Life Experience:

I wear these shoes all the time.  Period.  The only time I’m not wearing them is at work.  But I would, if I could wear open toed shoes.  If I go out on the weekend, I’m wearing Earth Runners.  San Diego trip with my sister? Earth Runners at the zoo, out to eat, all day every day.  Newport Beach to see my hubby’s best friend? Earth Runners out to the bar, Earth Runners to the beach, and everywhere.  I think you get the picture, I’m obsessed with these things, it’s almost like an addiction.  My husband is thinking about getting some because of my borderline attachment.

Techie Stuff:

  • Stack height: 6 mm
  • Weight per sandal: 8 oz as tested (this would likely be different depending on how large your foot is, what type of laces and footbed you choose.)
  • Choice of leather footbed or naked footbed (tested leather footbed)
  • Choice of laces: Nylon with sturdy buckle, leather, or newly offered conductive laces
  • Sizing from chart or custom foot tracing
  • Zero drop (obv)
  • Foot bed forms to your feet
  • Don’t wear them in a thunder/lightning storm (ZAP!)

Pros:

  • Earthing: Come on, what other shoe can you say this about?
  • Comfort during walking/running
  • Easy strapping system (A big plus for a strap illiterate human)
  • THEY LOOK FANTASTIC. Raw, genuine huarache appearance (A plus for my street credit)
  • Versatility (I can go run, hike, or go to a bar in these.)
  • Favorite “recovery run” shoe. These things suck the inflammation right out of my little legs after a long trail run. Ok, I’m not certain that they really do this, but I do feel somehow more rested after going for a quick run or walk in these.
  • The company you’re dealing with stands by their product and is prompt to answer questions (no matter how silly)
  • For every 10 pairs sold, Michael donates a pair to charity

Cons:

  • Fair ground feel
  • Foot slippage in strapping on trails
  • Ultralights: Not the best choice for trails as tread does not accommodate steep, rocky California trails (Try another model?)
  • Barely a con: Straps take some adjusting, breaking in time needed. (Likely the case for all huaraches)
  • Not my first choice for a long distance (10+ mile run) due to strap rubbing over time.

Some pictures for your enjoyment:  Head on over to http://www.earthrunners.com and get yourself a pair.  And tell Michael I sent ya 🙂

Earth Runners hiking
Earth Runners hiking
fresh dirt after a hike
fresh dirt after a hike

IMG_0493

side view
side view
bottom: Sorry about the blue paint, I painted my front door. In Earth Runners of course
bottom: Sorry about the blue paint, I painted my front door. In Earth Runners of course
Earth Runners out and about in Ventura
Earth Runners out and about in Ventura
Earth Runners in my yard :)
Earth Runners in my yard 🙂
Earth Runners at the San Diego Zoo
Earth Runners at the San Diego Zoo
Earth Runners out in Newport Beach
Earth Runners out in Newport Beach
Earth Runners to assist with recovery after BTR Ultramarathon
Earth Runners to assist with recovery after BTR Ultramarathon

7 Replies to “Official Shoe Review: Earth Runners”

  1. cannot agree more about the earthrunners,ordered the circadian without the footbed ,and now fly in them ?are they just slightly to heavy,or am i getting used to them.i now use one for running and one for hiking,by the way ,love the blog!

    1. HI David!! I’m so excited you ordered the Circadians! I’m thinking about getting a pair myself, I’d really like to try that tread and without the footbed. I bet they are lighter without the footbed for sure. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. LOVE my earthrunners. So much so that I’ve become an advocate of sorts (literally, pretty sure my husband thinks I have a problem). Can’t say enough good things. I did 3.1 miles in them (without stopping) two nights ago. Know the last time I ran 3.1 miles straight in any shoe? Never. I’ve never been able to run that long. And I wasn’t even sore the next day…seriously! Keep running..keep shining..keep blogging! I enjoy your sense of humor and up front kick ass attitude..
    -Abby

  3. Great review! Just received my Circadian Earth Runners last week. Can’t say enough about them…great quality, they feel incredible and look awesome. Wife and I went on a 8.5 mile hike through some trails here in south Florida and they performed big time…even through the mud and water. I ordered the conductive inserts and leather bedding. They are definitely additive…can’t stop wearing them and my wife is getting them next.

Leave a Reply

